Wirksworth runnning club’s third 1-mile relay race replaced normal Monday night training this week, with 35 club members out in force, either refereeing the race (thank you Simon Edwards!) or running a mile as fast as they posssibly could on the High Peak trail.  Many club members achieved PBs on the night, in spite of the dead turn on the course, and there were some incredible individual runs.  The race was quite close too as all 5 teams finished within about 30 seconds of each other.

Individual one-mile times (if known) with winning team members in bold are Adam Lathbury 6:21, Andy Rose 6:29, Ania Ames 6:56, Becky Mead 7:18, Ben Taylor 6:13, Bob King 6:22, Chad Bean 6:25, Chloe Gordon 7:14, Chris Hubbard 7:31, Clare Eardley 8:03, Danielle Brown 7:45, Dave Spencer 6:21, David Brassington 5:39, Emma Roberts 8:19, Georgia Mai Walker 7:56, Gordon Day 6:43, Graham Robinson 6:07, Greg Kirby 5:49, Jenny Godfrey 7:14, John Hobson 6:23, John Potter 5:38, Kathy Mitchell 8:16, Laura Jones 8:13, Lewis Glover, Liz Abrahams 7:23, Mark Crawshaw 6:21, Molly Gorman 7:19, Oliver Pratten 5:46, Peter Johnston 5:40, Rachel Hathaway 8:48, Ruth Miller, Stef Brassington 6:41, Tanya Rountree 8:16, Zack Hubbard 6:29.

Special thanks go to Ania Ames, who was kind enough to host a small gathering in her garden after the race, which about 8 of us enjoyed.  Thank you, Ania!

The next WRC 1-mile relay will be on Monday 19th July.  Please join us to gain team points in the club league.  Each club member’s fastest mile also forms a segment in the league.  Please download the club league rules to see how you can start amassing points in the league this year – it’s all up for grabs!